Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Chat Forums » Political Opinions and Opinionated Posts

Post subject: This really annoys me
 Post Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:55 pm 
Now, I'm not a huge proponent for tort reform. I looked into the McDonalds coffee case beyond the 2 sentance summary most people give you, and I thought the verdict was actually fairly reasonable. However, I'm seriously annoyed by the recent descision against Giant's stadium.

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2005/football/nfl/03/04/bc.fbn.beervendorsued.ap/index.html?cnn=yes

The upshot of the article: Vendor sells beer to a drunk fan. Fan crashes car and paralyzes 2-year-old daughter. Sues the stadium for selling him the beer. Wins $105 million. I'll spare you all the rant about personal responsibility, but really, why does this work? How were the stadium's lawyers NOT able to convince a jury that the vendor had no way to know that the fan hadn't taken steps to ensure his own safety, like letting someone else drive home, or couldn't control his own drinking?

Post subject:
 Post Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 3:29 pm 
Moderator of DOOM!
Moderator of DOOM!
Well, it is the law that someone who sells alcohol is partly responsible for the drunken behavior of their customers. It was mostly aimed at roadside bars; where it's pretty much a given that these customers are probably going to be driving home when they leave; so anyone serving a visible drunk is doing so in the full knowledge of what comes next. The Giants corporation was selling alcohol, to a drunken fan, with no way of knowing that he *wouldn't* be driving; so they clearly fell afoul of this law.

I suspect in this case that the jury went overboard; though they seemingly wanted the punishment to fit the purse (ten thousand dollar fines don't mean much to a multi-billion dollar corporation). Still, wait for this to get through the inevitable appeals court to see if it's worth worrying about; nobody is getting or paying a dime before then.