Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Chat Forums » General Chat

Post Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 7:58 pm 
I've been an AWOL poster for so long, and now I'm returning with a trash post like this, but I need a place to vent.

My children's novel was just returned by a publisher who spent nine months looking at it. My book-in-progress on religion and social reform is not going well. My hours got cut at my job helping parents find educational resources. I would like to teach but I don't have a teaching certificate. I can't get a teaching certificate, even though I have a Masters in Education, because my undergrad degree was in philosophy which is not certifiable (save me your :pun: s!) If I go back and get my certification, not only will I have to pick up another undergrad major but I won't get any credit for my professional experience, which includes a year of actual public school teaching under emergency certification.

Anyway, I'm almost 30. I'm flat broke and headed towards debt. I spent my 20's "following my bliss" and also trying to do things I thought would help make the world a better place. At the end of it, it feels like I --and the world --have very little to show for it. I've taken some gambles with my life which haven't paid off and I'm not even sure what hopes and dreams I have left to pursue.

Ok, that was cathartic. I'm normally a pretty cheerful person but this year is taking its toll on me... I'm sure I'll feel better tomorrow...

Post subject:
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 8:36 pm 
AOL: sugarraygross
Who's Joseph Campbell?

Post subject:
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2005 9:45 pm 
Moderator of DOOM!
Moderator of DOOM!
Location: What a lovely pair of tropical Sulidae you've got there.