Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Chat Forums » General Chat




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 66 posts ] 
 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2018 1:02 am 
User avatar
Offline
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 12:00 am
Posts: 80
Location: Yuma, Az
Big Annoyance (to me): People who pronounce the word nucular. It's NUCLEAR darn it. NEW-CLEE-AR!! ONE U, not 2!!

Little pleasure: Coming back in the house after shoveling snow and drinking a nice cup of hot cocao. It not only warms the insides, but it warms my hands back up. A wonderful feeling!

Top 
   
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2018 9:58 pm 
Senior Community Staff
Senior Community Staff
User avatar
Offline
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 11:07 pm
Posts: 5167
Location: Someplace other than where I am.
Local cable company is going to change over to 100% digital transmission soon. Will need a receiver for each TV to see any channels now. Have one already but would be nice to have another for at least one more TV. They have a deal where you can get another one free for 12 months. The change over date is coming up, so I finally got around to order the "Easy to Install" self installation kit. Showed up in a couple of days.

Today I got around to hooking it up. Just have to active it. They say you can do that by using their app or calling a number. App sounds easier, so I bring it up on my phone and I can not find anything in the app for doing that. It even specifically says to got to the "Troubleshooting" section of the menu...which does not exist! So I call the automated number instead. It verifies that I have everything up and running by pressing 1 usually. Okay it sends the code and waits for me to press 1 when a picture appears which should be within a minute or so.

A few minutes later and nothing has changed. It comes back on and says, "Your activation appears to be taking longer than usual. It may take up to 60 minutes for it to activate." Then it hangs up. I know enough about how these type of systems work, that if it hadn't activated in the time it was supposed to, 60 more minutes is not going to make any difference.

An hour and a half later, I call the number again. Go through the rigamarole to have it send the code again. Maybe it will work this time. Instead it will not send it again since it has already been activated. So it asks if I am having any problems with the activation. I press 1 for yes, and then it says, "Please hold."

I'm more than a little annoyed with this so called "Easy to Install" kit by this point, so I just hang up.

UPDATE:
Been putting it off, but now I have to use it. Set it up and does the exact same thing (as expected). I do hold this time. Go through everything, she says the connection is good, try some other things, but nope. A Tech will be coming out to look at it in a couple of days.

Top 
   
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 4:52 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:32 pm
Posts: 749
Location: under a pile of papers
Zillatain wrote:
UPDATE:
Been putting it off, but now I have to use it. Set it up and does the exact same thing (as expected). I do hold this time. Go through everything, she says the connection is good, try some other things, but nope. A Tech will be coming out to look at it in a couple of days.

Good luck!

Big annoyance: Can't watch any of the things I normally watch.
Little (big) pleasure: Sluggy. Without anything to watch, I read through 2009-present in the last 3 weeks. Amazing the way elements of the story build over time and come together. It's hard to believe that 4U City was 7-9 years ago!

Top 
   
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 11:33 pm 
Senior Community Staff
Senior Community Staff
User avatar
Offline
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 11:07 pm
Posts: 5167
Location: Someplace other than where I am.
I have tablet that I got about 4 months ago. The other morning I remembered it was low, so I hooked it up to charge. This thing is, it was always hard to line up the connector and get it "locked in". This time it took a bit more fiddling this time, but got it and laid it screen down on the bed.

Later that night I unhook it and next thing I know, I'm being blinded since the brightness had gotten maxed out and I saw that I had a notification that "The Screenshot had failed". Okay it apparently had turned on while I was trying to connect it and since I had fingers on the screen (while it was upside down) and had touched some settings. I usually check the screen before putting it down but I didn't do it this time. So I set the brightness down to much lower setting, cleared the notifications, swiped up to unlock the tablet, and the password screen came up. What in the...?!?

I had never set a password on it.

I tried figuring what it might be, but I ended up having to factory reset the thing. There was nothing on it I cared about losing, EXCEPT, this one game I have literally been playing for months. It has maybe a thousand puzzles total to solve. I have solved over three hundred (and there is an achievement for that). But the thing is, it requires tokens to unlock every puzzle which costs 5 to 50 per puzzle. Not spending any money, it takes a lot of time to get free ones per day, which depending on the day, is around 5 to 40 tokens and 100 to 500 coins. Also you can earn tokens by completing goals in other peoples' games which could be a couple to hundreds depending how hard the goal is.

Last I remember, I had over 1500 tokens and 60000 coins. Reinstalled the game, now I have 0 solved, 16 tokens, and 300 coins. Which means I do not see me playing it ever again. It probably took me over 2500 tokens and three months to solve 300 puzzles. I liked that damn game too...

I checked into it, and unfathomably, the thing has no secondary password verification when setting it up. Just enter what you want as a password then push OK. Stupid...

Top 
   
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2018 3:47 am 
User avatar
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 10:57 pm
Posts: 3993
Location: Currently on expedition.
Y'all have no idea how hard it is to find a decent version of Ride of the Valkyries done in Kazoo.

No. Idea.

Top 
   
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2018 6:51 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:32 pm
Posts: 749
Location: under a pile of papers
Zillatain, that sounds super frustrating. At least that was the only thing you lost!
Balthazar, indeed, I had no idea!

Mine is popcorn. I love it. But then I eat too much of it. I found a street seller selling it here, and though different in texture and slightly sweet, it's quite good!

Top 
   
 Post Posted: Tue May 01, 2018 2:30 pm 
Member of the Fraternal Order of the Emergency Pants
User avatar
Offline
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 12:00 am
Posts: 3098
AOL: drachefly
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Quote:
Y'all have no idea how hard it is to find a decent version of Ride of the Valkyries done in Kazoo.


Seems like the difficulty of that is capped at the difficulty of producing one.

Top 
   
 Post Posted: Sun May 20, 2018 6:12 pm 
Moderator of DOOM!
Moderator of DOOM!
User avatar
Offline
Joined: Thu May 30, 2002 12:00 am
Posts: 14142
Location: Yes.
drachefly wrote:
Quote:
Y'all have no idea how hard it is to find a decent version of Ride of the Valkyries done in Kazoo.


Seems like the difficulty of that is capped at the difficulty of producing one.

The difficulty should be negligible, so long as you're willing to pay for it (or have amazing connections with, say, the Danish National Orchestra).

Top 
   
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 3:39 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:32 pm
Posts: 749
Location: under a pile of papers
Annoyance: suddenly not being able to access the forums or archives in China.

Little pleasures: not in China anymore, and I can access everything!

Top 
   
 Post Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 11:33 pm 
User avatar
Offline
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 6:07 am
Posts: 1485
WLM: sir_knighthawk@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: sir_knighthawk@yahoo.com
Location: Out of my mind, back... never
Big annoyance. It looks like my back has decided to take another step on its path to crippling me (bulging disc, may have gotten worse. We'll see after the specialist gets to me). Little pleasure the Tramadol and Baclofen seem to be working.

Top 
   
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 1:59 am 
User avatar
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 10:57 pm
Posts: 3993
Location: Currently on expedition.
Homemade Bourbon ice cream.

Top 
   
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 4:05 am 
Gatekeeper of Niftiness
User avatar
Offline
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 12:16 am
Posts: 7743
Location: Praise be to the sticky elastic bands of the Healing Gauze
Annoyance. Stint in the hospital. Have to take a few months off work.

Pleasure. My boss was a dick so not dealing with him will be nice and the hospital managed to get me good insurance through the state.

Top 
   
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 4:20 am 
User avatar
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 10:57 pm
Posts: 3993
Location: Currently on expedition.
Hope you're doing O.K. dude. Get better quick.

Top 
   
 Post Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:02 am 
Gatekeeper of Niftiness
User avatar
Offline
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 12:16 am
Posts: 7743
Location: Praise be to the sticky elastic bands of the Healing Gauze
balthazar wrote:
Hope you're doing O.K. dude. Get better quick.

I'll be fine, thanks.

Top 
   
 Post Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 3:45 pm 
User avatar
Offline
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 12:00 am
Posts: 80
Location: Yuma, Az
balthazar wrote:
Homemade Bourbon ice cream.

That sounds absolutely delicious!

Top 
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 66 posts ] 

Board index » Chat Forums » General Chat


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: